In this article, we cover the following questions:
What is the share feature?
This feature allows you to share some of Gaia’s content with non-members. You will be able to generate your own personalized link that you can share with others. From the time of the first click on the link, the video will be available for non-members for 72 hours.
How do I use the share feature?
1. You can share from the video banner or in full-video mode. Click "Share." Example
2. Once you select “Share,” a pop-up will appear. If you would like to, you can personalize your link by adding your name or a specific time at which to start the video so you can share your favorite part of the show too! If you would prefer not to personalize your link, then you can continue to click the “Generate Link” button. Example
3. Once the link is generated, click the “Copy” button. This will copy the link to your device's clipboard, allowing you to paste it in a message to your friends or on your social media pages. Example
4. You can share via Facebook, Twitter, and Reddit, or you can embed the link or email it directly. From the time of the first click on the link, the video will be available for 72 hours.
Are all titles available?
The majority of content on Gaia is able to be shared, however, there are some exceptions to this due to licensing. In these situations, the "Share" option will not appear.
Additionally, there are some titles that have restrictions on specific regions or countries. When a member shares a video that is available to them but is not available in a friend’s country, then the share link or page will look like the following example for the friend in the geo-restricted country. If the geo-restricted shared video has a preview, we will not give the friend the ability to watch the preview either. The title “AMAL,” for example, has a preview; however, it can’t be played. Example
How many shares am I allowed?
Shares are unlimited.
Is this feature available on iOS and Android devices?
Yes. You can share Gaia videos from our app for iOS and Android devices, as well as from Gaia.com.
How long does the person with whom I share the video have access to it?
From the time of the first video view, the video will be available for 72 hours.
Why is my link saying it has expired?
From the time of the first video view, the link will be active for 72 hours. After this period, a message will display saying, “Sorry, this link is expired.” To continue watching the film, the person viewing your link will need to provide their email address to reactivate the link again. Once they have done this, they will receive an email with a new link.
Additionally, if your link has been viewed by a large number of people, the message "Wow this is popular" may be displayed. In this situation, the person viewing your link will need to provide their email address to reactivate the link again. Once they have done this, they will receive an email with a new link.
Important Note: a given user may “reactivate” an expired share link up to 3 times site-wide within a 30-day period. If a given user attempts to reactivate a link more than this, they will receive a message saying "you have exceeded the number of expired share link requests allowed. If this user would like to continue watching the video, they will need to sign up to Gaia.com.”